Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover.jpg

Firstly, there are lots and lots and lots of reviews from reviewers who didn’t seem to realise that this is a playscript. As in

REVIEWER:         (says in a stage whisper) A. Play. Script.

I’ve read plenty of plays in my time – I’ve a particular fondness for Philip Ridley and Mark Ravenhill, whose work rarely graces this shores but plays are easily accessible in book form – so I didn’t have a problem with the format.

That said, what I did have a problem with, format-wise, was that JK Rowling had gone on record saying that putting this on stage was the best format for the story, and that it absolutely couldn’t have been a novel.

It really could have, and would’ve made an excellent one. But they chose to make a play, and that’s fine.

I enjoyed both of the plays. I thought the story – which, word of warning, focuses predominately on Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy’s sons, much more than it does on Harry, Hermione and Ron. They’re in it, they have scenes and there they’re throughout, but this is definetly the story of The Cursed Child (Albus, Harry’s son) – was great, and very much its own thing. It’s a tricksy, timey-wimey story that involves time travel, and as such gives a great opportunity for older/dead characters to have their own cameo.

I really enjoyed the story, the new children, and where the characters everyone loves are now. In particular, I loved how Draco Malfoy and his son Scorpius (my favourite new character) and their relationships developed.

I could go into the in’s and out’s of the plot, but frankly, you’re probably going to read it and don’t want to be spoiled, or are not and just have a passing interest.

I really enjoyed the plays, and would love to see it live, although I tried recently, to no avail, to get tickets, as did many thousands of others, so for now, this book is the next best thing.

—–

You can reserve a copy online at South Dublin Libraries’ catalogue here.

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. The amount of people complaining about feeling misled because it’s a script and not a novel astonishes me. It was always advertised as a script…
    Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My 13 year old is a huge Harry Potter fan – he was also skeptical when he heard it was a play but ended up really enjoying it. We went to a bookstore for the midnight launch together and won a time turner collectible! It was a fun event where there were activities, people were dressed up, and they handed out free pins with the four houses (which he keeps on his backpack). Since he’s too young to have been part of the initial book launches I wanted him to have the experience at least once.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, that’s great! And you’re dead right – those midnight book launches are pretty magical. We do a Harry Potter Night here in the library every year, which is great fun. The children’s librarian does loads of events, and myself and another colleague get dressed up and do readings from the books. My favourite bit of the whole event is a sign with nothing else around it that says “Invisibility Cloak – Please Take One!” 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • I would love to, but I don’t think I’ll be able to. There was a queue of 50000 people last time! Also, I don’t know if I’d go all the way to London just for that, there’s a couple of other shows I’d be more interested in, and if I could get tickets for Harry Potter coinciding, that would be the best. Still, it’s gotten great reviews, and I’d say it’d be great staged.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

