Joint Review: O Human Star Volumes 1 and 2 by Blue Delliquanti

o-human-star-comic

Readers of this blog will know that I review a lot of LGBT-interest books, and I’m back with another. Lately, I’ve been getting back into reading comics. Comixology is Amazon’s digital comics service and one thing I like about them is all the releases are tagged with genre and description tags, and this book was tagged as LGBTQ (a tag that I completely stalk and have read most of the books on there. It’s great because I found books like this that I may never have heard of otherwise).

O Human Star is a webcomic that has been running since 2012. Set in the near-future, Alastair Sterling was one of the pioneers in robotics, however, he didn’t live to see the fruits of his labour and the effect they would ultimately have on society. That is, until he awakes as a robot that’s an exact replica of his human form with his memories. It promptly drops his home, to his business and life partner Brendan, where he meets another young robot, Sulla, who looks a lot like Alastair.

This is wonderfully intelligent and beautifully written piece of work. When I finished Volume 1 (which collects the first three chapters), I involuntarily shouted at my tablet when I realised the book was over and I was left hanging – luckily, I didn’t have to wait too long for Volume 2 (collecting chapters 4, 5 and a side story) and that’s why this is a joint review.


This is a near-future sci-fi story with a beautiful gay romance at the centre, and without saying too much, it will definitely also appeal to trans readers (my favourite character in the whole book!) but it shouldn’t be limited to these readers – anyone who likes comics, sci-fi or both should like this.

It’s also beautifully drawn – Delliquanti’s style is clean, crisp and gorgeous; this is simply an artist at the top of her game. Both volumes are available on Comixology, or direct as ebooks from Delliquanti (there’s also paperbacks which you can buy on her site). Looking forward to and a little sad that Volume 3 will be the last. Also, new pages are posted weekly on her site where I will be very, very impatiently waiting for more!

Since it’s a webcomic, you can read the entire thing, for FREE, here. But if you love it like I do, please support the artist (she has a Patreon here)!

 

4 thoughts on “Joint Review: O Human Star Volumes 1 and 2 by Blue Delliquanti

  1. Simply, the article is actually the greatest on that worthy topic. I agree with your conclusions and can eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates. Saying thanks definitely will not simply just be sufficient, for the fantasti c clarity in your writing. I definitely will right away grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates. Admirable work and also much success in your business endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

