Books of the Year 2016 – Part 1

Happy Holidays!

Today is the first of two posts (with the second out on the 29th Dec) that highlight our favourite books out of those we reviewed in the past year. We’ve eight contributors, so this first post has the first four.

Lucy’s pick:
dissolution
My book of the year is “Dissolution” by C. J. Sansom because it seamlessly combines meticulous research with a gripping murder and wonderful writing.  It was my introduction to a series of books which I have enjoyed immensely.
[Lucy’s original review is here]

Eleanor’s pick:
unbreak
My favourite book this year was “Unbreak My Heart” by Nicole Jacquelyn. I think the reason why it was my favourite was because even now 7 months after reading it I can feel it. It was such a heart wrenching book that had me crying most of the way through. When a book can bring that emotion out of you, then you know its well written. Aside from the emotional hook, Unbreak My Heart, also has two very flawed main characters. But you do get to a place where you can’t help but root for them to get it right. Nicole Jacquelyn nailed it with Unbreak My Heart. In my opinion she wrote a book that will go down as a book to remember. A story that you’ll recommend to everyone and not stop until all your friends have read it!
[Eleanor’s original review is here]

Helen’s pick:
eleven-hours
My book of the year is “Eleven Hours” By Pamela Erens ,because of the breath taking quality of the writing, the emotional power of the subject matter and the totally absorbing nature of the narrative. This novel certainly had the “wow” factor for me, it stood out from the crowd, by a mile.
[Helen’s original review is here]

Emma’s pick(s!):


I picked two!
“One” by Sarah Crossan is a favourite as it is such an original idea and also I love that the book is in verse. It’s emotional, compelling and different. I’ve been recommending it to everyone.

“The Wordsmith” by Patricia Forde was a story I loved but it was also very thought provoking.The ideas in it have stayed with me long after I read it and it really stands out to me as something I enjoyed. I particularly like dystopian fiction so this really appealed to me.
[Emma’s review for One is here and her review for The Wordsmith is here]

Don’t forget to tune in on the 29th for our remaning four Books of the Year.

 

10 thoughts on “Books of the Year 2016 – Part 1

  1. I thoroughly endorse your decision to highlight Dissolution by C.J. Sansom – the Matthew Shardlake is a fabulous series, anyway. I haven’t encountered The Wordsmith, but that is one that also sounds very appealing. Thank you for sharing:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Books of the Year 2016 – Part 2 | Ballyroan Reads

  3. I also loved One. I don’t usually pick up a book written solely in verse. However, the cover caught my eye and once I started to read the text I was pulled into the emotional and gripping world of Grace & Tippi. Must check out The Wordsmith.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment