The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter

strangler vine

This is the first in the Blake and Avery mystery series. It is set in India at the height of the East India Company’s power on the brink of huge social change. Bored soldier William Avery must accompany the mysterious Jeremiah Blake in his search for the famous poet and spy Xavier Mountstuart. Their search brings them into contact with the terrifying Thuggee Hunting Department of the company, the ruler of an independent state and many other fascinating characters. Blake and Avery are characters that stay with you well after you have finished the book and the corruption of the East India Company is clear to see.

I read all three books in the series in under two weeks.  They are fantastic and unputdownable. I really hope that M.J. Carter writes another and soon.


You can reserve a copy online at South Dublin Libraries’ catalogue here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s